My fobby mommy

January 7, 2010 § 4 Comments

My mom and my sister Ga. (I took this photo seconds after my mother bit her.)

When I discovered MyMomIsAFob.com, it immediately became a favorite website. Its not for everybody though–only if you have a fobby mom or relative would you understand. Basically, children of fobby mothers gather at this site and post humourous, adorable and loving messages that they receive from their fobby mommies.  Fobby mommies-hey, I have one of those!

For a few years now my mom has been gradually familiarizing herself with email. Below is an excerpt from a recent email that she sent to my sister Yun. As a preface, my mom likes to speak in analogies (that don’t always make sense); and for some reason they usually involve an emperor, general or a monk. Below, my mom comments on Yun’s role as maid of honor in Sum’s (another sister of mine) wedding:

“…I would do whatever you assigned me to do. You are a General in this event ,you are in charge ,to exercise, to plan out the whole picture.of course we got to work together! Sum is the CEO,She makes the final proof.Frankly,I am chasing to manage my daily task already.But I am always around to help. Love”

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to My fobby mommy

  • Allison says:

    i love my mommy!

  • Allison says:

    when was that taken?

    • kimleung says:

      I want to say this past summer. I just remembered something else really fobby of mother… When mom helped me move in my freshman year of college, she made this makeshift shelf out of cardboard boxes-nothing complicated, essentially boxes stacked on top of one another. She was really proud of it. And I didn’t have the heart to take it down while she was there, I just nodded and said, “Wow, looks great. Thanks!”

      Hm, I hope mom doesn’t make her way on to this site…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My fobby mommy at Kim Leung's Blog.

meta

