Found from Project Photo Restoration

February 5, 2010 § 3 Comments

My sisters and I are embarking on a new project. We are  gathering our old, scattered, dusty family photos, organizing them, archiving them digitally,  and restoring damaged and worn photos if possible. The parents didn’t take many photos of us as kids, making the existing ones all the more valuable. Meanwhile, we are making more of a concerted effort to document the present through photography and writing. Throughout this process, I will post some of my favorite findings here, starting with this one:

Yep, that’s Papa Leung in his element. My dad can be an irritable man, and I am not just saying that with a daughter’s bias. His employees would agree. And as co-owner of the Golden Bowl, our family’s restaurant, he can even be rude to his customers when he’s in a sour mood. But there is a quirkiness to him that makes him hard to hate–and I admit, even likable at times–to his daughters,  employees and Golden Bowl customers. And I think this photo captures it.

The photo was taken at the restaurant by a customer. It is  a snapshot of what someone sees when coming into the Golden Bowl, a point of view that I don’t often get because I am more used to looking from the inside out, and not vice versa. I like how this photo gives me a sense of what its like to be a customer coming into my family’s restaurant. I also like the colors. Sometimes while working at the Golden Bowl for long hours, everything begins to look grey and monotonous, which is why the bright colors in this photo sort of stuns me–I just never saw it that way. I also like how this picture  catches the reflection of our neon lights off of the bullet-proof glass window.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Found from Project Photo Restoration

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Found from Project Photo Restoration at Kim Leung's Blog.

meta

